Medway schools set for rugby showdown

Photo of Balfour Junior School's winning rugby teamRugby World Cup fever comes to Medway on Tuesday, 11 October 2011 as the next generation of Carters, Wilkinsons and O’Driscolls compete for rugby glory.

33 schools representing the world’s top rugby nations take to the field in the Mini Youth Games tag rugby event.

Each school has been paired with a nation in an extended version of the IRB Rugby World Cup format.

The 20 nations in the IRB World Cup have been joined by the next 13 in the IRB World Rankings to create a six-group tournament for local schools.

As well as the regular points for winning or drawing games, the group stages will reward attacking rugby with bonus points available for schools scoring more than four tries in a game and schools losing games by a one-try margin.

The top 16 schools in the group stage will progress to the knock-out stage with other schools progressing to the World Cup Plate competition.

The schools and their nations are listed below:



Canada – Byron

France – Gads Hill

Japan – Bryony

New Zealand – Walderslade

Tonga – All Saints

Belgium – St Augustine of Canterbury



Argentina – Lordswood

England – Maundene

Georgia – Woodlands

Romania – Kingfisher

Scotland – Hempstead

Uruguay – St Andrews



Australia – Fairview

Ireland – Allhallows

Italy – Sherwin Knight

Russia – Spinnens Acre

USA – St Thomas More

Hong Kong – Chattenden



Fiji – Featherby

Namibia – Gordon

Samoa – Hoo St Werburgh

South Africa – St Margarets

Wales – Miers Court



Morocco – Hilltop

Spain – Barnsole

Moldova – Cliffe Woods

Kazakhstan – Oaklands

Ukraine – St Mary’s Island



Czech Rep – Balfour

Chile – Wainscott

Brazil – Halling

Korea – Tunbury

Portugal – Burnt Oak


Back to September 2011 news